Board of Education Director Elections

2021 School Board Director Election

Official Candidates - Board of Education School Board Director Election

Director District B Candidates:

Mike Peterson
Notice of Intent

Juli Watkins
Notice of Intent
Director District D Candidates:

Ruby Martinez
Notice of Intent

Becky Myers
Notice of Intent

Justin V Mathew
Notice of Intent

Director District E Candidates:

Kevin Leung
Notice of Intent

Christy Williams
Notice of Intent

Director District G Candidates:

Krista Holtzmann
Notice of Intent

Kaylee Winegar

Notice of Intent



This information will be updated as necessary.  Please check back for more news and information as it becomes available.

The regular biennial school board election will be held on Tuesday, November 2, 2021.   More information is available at the Douglas County Elections website.

Douglas County School District (DCSD) has established a director district plan of representation. All school directors are voted on at large (i.e. - eligible electors of the school district vote for one candidate from each director district). Four (4) School Board Director seats will be elected at the November 2021 election.

  • Director B (map): Currently held by Anthony Graziano
  • Director D (map): Currently held by Christina Ciancio-Schor
  • Director E (map):  Currently held by Kevin Leung
  • Director G (map):  Currently held by Krista Holtzmann

Serving as a DCSD Board of Education School Board Director is a volunteer position. Board of Education Directors serve four-year terms. Typically, a Study Session is held on the second Tuesday and a Regular Board Meeting is held on the fourth Tuesday of the month.  A work session and/or an executive session (a closed session) may be held preceding the Study Session or Regular Board Meeting. Variations to this schedule may occur, and Special Meetings may be called as determined by the President of the Board.  School Board Directors also serve on one or more committees that meet periodically throughout the school year.

Board Member Candidate Qualifications

Pursuant to Colorado State Statutes, a candidate for the office of school director:

  • Shall be a registered elector of Douglas County School District for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the election;
  • Shall be a resident of the director district for which he or she is a candidate at the time of filing the notice of intention and supporting petition; and
  • Shall not have been convicted of, plead guilty or nolo contendere to, or received a deferred judgment and sentence for a sexual offense against a child.

Please note that candidate qualifications will be verified through the records of the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder.

Throughout the election period, candidates are required to fulfill filing/reporting obligations. See the timeline for details.


The 2021 School Director Election Timeline is posted here. The timeline contains critical information for candidates and the Election Official.

Candidate Packets

Candidates may obtain the following documents on or after Wednesday, August 4, 2021 between 8:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. from Sandy Maresh, Designated Election Official at Wilcox Administration Building, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado.  Items in the packet include:

  1. Affidavit that Candidate fully meets the qualifications for the School Director office he/she seeks to hold;
  2. Notice of Intent to be a Candidate for School Director;
  3. Petition for Nomination, with Circulator’s Affidavits (signatures of 50 eligible electors are required.) (First day a candidate may circulate a nomination petition is August 4, 2021.); and
  4. Acceptance of Nomination to be a Candidate.

The documents referenced above must be completed and returned to Sandy Maresh at Douglas County School District, Wilcox Administration Building, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, no later than 4:00 p.m. on Friday, August 27, 2021. Please contact the Designated Elections Official by phone at 303-387-0258 or by email at to arrange a time to turn in documents. Candidates are encouraged to return the completed documents prior to the deadline to allow time for verification of signatures. 

More information regarding school board elections may be found at the website for the Colorado Association of School Boards, and the Colorado Secretary of State website at the following links:






Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District's Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Aaron Henderson, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado,, 720-433-1083.

Outside Agencies

Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.