• Employee Resources
  • Language

Twelve safety strategies in place now at Douglas County schools

CASTLE ROCK – The tragic events that took place at Arapahoe High School on Friday, December 13 have again shaken school communities throughout the country. Here in Douglas County, the school district works closely with the Douglas County Sheriff’s Department, Castle Rock Police Department, City of Lone Tree Police Department, and Parker Police Department to be diligent in our efforts to keep students and staff safe.

  1. All DCSD school doors are locked and/or have safety personnel at the door to greet each visitor. 
  2. All middle and high schools have school security at their entrances.
  3. All DCSD high schools have uniformed School Resource Officers and marked cars in addition to safety personnel at the open door.
  4. Regular drills are performed, including Lock Out and Lock Down drills.
  5. Annual “tabletop exercises” with emergency scenarios are conducted in collaboration with law enforcement.
  6. DCSD provides, high-speed Internet access to our law enforcement partners in our schools and school parking lots, increasing police presence and providing officers with Internet access that is much faster than the cellular alternative. 
  7. DCSD partners with law enforcement to offer Y.E.S.S. and many other proactive safety programs, including Text-a-Tip.
  8. A standard response protocol (SRP) has been established at all district buildings.
  9. Active shooter trainings for DCSD staff and law enforcement personnel are held in DCSD schools during the summer.
  10. Free school lunches are available for all police officers during the lunch period.
  11. The School Marshal Program is underway in all elementary and middle schools. Police officers make unscheduled, unannounced visits to schools throughout each day.
  12. The DCSD Safety Committee, composed of district leaders, law enforcement, and emergency responders, continuously reviews safety procedures.

LEARN MORE: Safety & Security Department

December 19, 2013 | By rmbarber | Category:

District News

kids running outside as part of a race

DCSD is requesting parent input on the health and wellness of our students. Last year, DCSD received a large planning grant from Colorado Health Foundation in an effort to assess how the district supports students through the lens of the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child model (WSCC). The mission of this grant is to review the current state of DCSD's student health and wellness program, and then formulate a three to five-year plan based on stakeholders’ needs, the latest research, and best practices. As part of this process, we would like your input.

How are we doing?

We want to hear from you! How often do you prefer to receive email newsletters from DCSD? How can we improve the news and information you receive? This brief survey should only take a minute or two of your time. Thank you for giving us your input!

Tell us what you think, here!


glowing purple lights hover over trays of seedlings in a dark room

It may look like a plain, white shipping container was just parked on the backyard grounds of Mountain Vista High School. The contents of the container are anything but plain, though. Walking inside the container, different colors of ambient lighting glow, futuristic-looking equipment and tall towers are suspended from the ceiling, and the humidity level is set to 70 percent. The container has been recycled into a new kind of learning opportunity for students.