• Employee Resources
  • Language

Raising their beautiful voices

DCSD students participate in the All-State Honor Choir performance in February 2017.

More than 50 DCSD students chosen for Colorado All-State Choir

DENVER – Last weekend 56 students representing eight high schools and seven middle schools in the Douglas County School District performed at the Bellco Theatre downtown during the Colorado All-State Choir.

The 31 DCSD high school students and 25 DCSD middle school students were selected for the honor after participating in a rigorous audition process. The groups gathered downtown from Thursday, February 2 to Saturday, February 4 and performed on Saturday night at BellCo Theatre.

Below is a list of the students who were selected for this year’s All-State Choir.


DCSD students chosen for the 2016-2017 All-State Honor Choir pose for a photo after dinner.
2016-2017 Colorado High School All-State Choir
DCSD Participants

Castle View High School
JJ Forgath
Emily Goodman
Kirstyn Halliday
Zoie Jaten
Karlie Murray
Megan Maher
Bobby Swift
Ethan Walker

Chaparral High School
Chandler Carter

Douglas County High School
Ryenne Sedalnick

Highlands Ranch High School
JiaJie Yu

Legend High School
Corson Lewarne
Jessica Collins
Roxy Ramirez
Alyssa Monahan 

Mountain Vista High School
Anthony Jacobellis
Isabel Heiland
Rebecca Walton
Meghan Boe

Ponderosa High School
Brett Newman
Chloe Resler

Rock Canyon High School
Brittani Ingram
Aaron Makikalli
Rachael Merrill
Caroline Myers
Joshua Nilsson
Megan Pryor
Hannah Rodriguez
Amanda Scholz
Mila Smith
Jenna Snyder


DCSD participants in the 2016-2017 All-State Middle School Honor Choir pose for a photo at BellCo Theatre.
2016-2017 Colorado Middle School All-State Choir
DCSD Participants

Cimarron Middle School
Joelle Garbrick
Matthew Long
Alexander Torres
Lori Newsom

Cresthill Middle School
Kailea Coghill
Julia Reigrut
Josie Shock

Mesa Middle School
Jax Stookey

Mountain Ridge MS
Kendal Mabry
Avery Wong
Zane Zakroff

Rocky Heights Middle School
Mila Penner
Zach Neeb
Griffin Rushall
Brendan Bernsdorf

Sagewood Middle School
Hannah Reynolds
Julianne Larson
Elizabeth Williams
Mar Iannone
Allie Hicks

Sierra Middle School
Sierra Valentine
Kaylee Bergeson

Ranch View Middle School
Ella McKnight
Emma Fisher
Alexis Barton
Rachel Gale
Christoper Hoerler
Ellis Schaefer 

February 9, 2017 | By rmbarber | Category: Schools

District News

graduates standing in line outside, smiling

DOUGLAS COUNTY – Graduation rates in the Douglas County School District (DCSD) continue to climb. Data released today by the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) shows the on-time, four-year graduation rate is now 90.4 percent.

DCSD students also made an impressive showing at graduation. The class of 2017 earned more than $82 million in scholarships.

DCSD has one of the highest graduation rates in the Denver metro area. According to CDE, DCSD graduation rates have risen steadily from 81.9 percent in 2009 to 90.4 percent in 2017.

Five female students standing on stage smiling and laughing at the awards ceremony

The top two-percent of female athletes in Douglas County School District (DCSD) were honored at the annual Girls and Women in Sports Luncheon last week at Chaparral High School. This year represented the 30th national celebration of Girls and Women in Sports Day, created to encourage and promote the participation of girls in athletics. The girls who were honored were selected by their school’s coaches, athletic directors and principals for their outstanding achievements.

Superintendent Search text based logo

Working through the recent winter break, the Douglas County School District Board of Education has kicked off its search for DCSD’s next permanent superintendent. Following a thorough vetting of potential search firms, Ray & Associates (no relation to Board Director David Ray) has been hired to conduct the national search. The cost of the firm, excluding travel expenses, is $40,000. The money will come from the school board's budget, which is used for costs such as legal expenses and conferences.