• Employee Resources
  • Language

Douglas County students reach for the stars during talent show auditions

16 finalists from DCSD to perform on March 5 during Stars of Tomorrow Talent Show

LONE TREE –Douglas County School District (DCSD) students shined during the recent Stars of Tomorrow Talent Show auditions.

A total of 85 acts auditioned on Saturday, January 30. The students were judged based on talent and technique (complexity, artistic skill, level of technique, interpretation and expression), presentation (stage presence, style, grace, poise, and showmanship), and selection (appropriateness, staging, arrangement).

Sixteen DCSD students were among the finalists named for the show, which is organized by the Kiwanis Club of Castle Rock.

They will compete for $5,000 in scholarships on Saturday, March 5 at the Lone Tree Arts Center. The event begins at 6:30 p.m.

This year's finalists are:

Natalie Beaumont - American Academy
Katie Bologova - STEM School & Academy
William Cuthbert - Carl Sandburg Elementary
Sydney Grant - DCS Montessori
Rylee Munoz - Northeast Elementary
Hannah Park - Skyview Academy
Sanjana Sankholkar - Northridge Elementary 
Cosette and Sophia Tsai - Northridge Elementary

Middle School
Sadie Corley - West Middle School
Evan Gibley - Mountain Ridge Middle School
Emma Grady - Challenge to Excellence
Christian Johnson and Eric Jones - STEM Middle School
Alyssa Marino - Rocky Heights Middle School
Taylor Muckel - Rocky Heights Middle School
Jillian Sanderson - PRA Classical Academy for Homeschoolers
Paul Sri - Homeschool

High School
Joseph Cassidy and Mayte Porragas - Castle View High School
Anna-Li Davis - Legend High School
Devon Erickson - STEM Academy
Nora Landy - Denver School of the Arts
Abby Linderman - Valor Christian
Brooklyn Murphy - Rock Canyon High School
Kaitlyn Tejero - Arapahoe High School

Tickets are available through the Lone Tree Arts Center website.

February 9, 2016 | By rmbarber | Category: Schools

District News

graduates standing in line outside, smiling

DOUGLAS COUNTY – Graduation rates in the Douglas County School District (DCSD) continue to climb. Data released today by the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) shows the on-time, four-year graduation rate is now 90.4 percent.

DCSD students also made an impressive showing at graduation. The class of 2017 earned more than $82 million in scholarships.

DCSD has one of the highest graduation rates in the Denver metro area. According to CDE, DCSD graduation rates have risen steadily from 81.9 percent in 2009 to 90.4 percent in 2017.

Five female students standing on stage smiling and laughing at the awards ceremony

The top two-percent of female athletes in Douglas County School District (DCSD) were honored at the annual Girls and Women in Sports Luncheon last week at Chaparral High School. This year represented the 30th national celebration of Girls and Women in Sports Day, created to encourage and promote the participation of girls in athletics. The girls who were honored were selected by their school’s coaches, athletic directors and principals for their outstanding achievements.

Superintendent Search text based logo

Working through the recent winter break, the Douglas County School District Board of Education has kicked off its search for DCSD’s next permanent superintendent. Following a thorough vetting of potential search firms, Ray & Associates (no relation to Board Director David Ray) has been hired to conduct the national search. The cost of the firm, excluding travel expenses, is $40,000. The money will come from the school board's budget, which is used for costs such as legal expenses and conferences.