• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD home to 22 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

DOUGLAS COUNTY-Douglas County School District is pleased to announce the names of 22 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists, making them part of an elite group representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. These academically talented students advance in the competition, which awards 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $33 million.

The goal of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence. Approximately 1.6 million students entered the competition. Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in 2017:

  • 2,500 National Merit Scholarships
  • 1,000 Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarships
  • 4,000 College/University-Sponsored Merit Scholarships

Finalists will be announced next February, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced starting in April. Congratulations to these outstanding DCSD students!

1.    Samuel J. Atlas, Mountain Vista High School

2.    Aidan W. Berryman, Rock Canyon High School

3.    Pravin Bhandari, STEM School and Academy

4.    Neha Chauhan, Rock Canyon High School

5.    Ansh S. Desai, Legend High School

6.    Logan A. Dunn, ThunderRidge High School

7.    Garrett N. Figueroa, Rock Canyon High School

8.    Calvin T. Haensel, ThunderRidge High School

9.    Lynnae A. Johnson, Douglas County High School

10. Adam Klein, Highlands Ranch High School

11. Aaron Lou, Highlands Ranch High School

12. Aaron Makikalli, Rock Canyon High School

13. Sydney Marchando, Rock Canyon High School

14. Jonathan Meade, Rock Canyon High School

15. Megan L. Pitman, Rock Canyon High School

16. Nicholas J. Purchase, Rock Canyon High School

17. Katherine R. Schaffer, Rock Canyon High School

18. Samuel P. Serra, Highlands Ranch High School

19. Connor W. Simpson, SkyView Academy

20. Josie Van Divier, Legend High School

21. Christopher E. Waid, Ponderosa High School

22. Lily Y. Xie, Highlands Ranch High School

September 15, 2016 | By CSilberman | Category: Schools

District News

kids running outside as part of a race

DCSD is requesting parent input on the health and wellness of our students. Last year, DCSD received a large planning grant from Colorado Health Foundation in an effort to assess how the district supports students through the lens of the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child model (WSCC). The mission of this grant is to review the current state of DCSD's student health and wellness program, and then formulate a three to five-year plan based on stakeholders’ needs, the latest research, and best practices. As part of this process, we would like your input.

How are we doing?

We want to hear from you! How often do you prefer to receive email newsletters from DCSD? How can we improve the news and information you receive? This brief survey should only take a minute or two of your time. Thank you for giving us your input!

Tell us what you think, here!


glowing purple lights hover over trays of seedlings in a dark room

It may look like a plain, white shipping container was just parked on the backyard grounds of Mountain Vista High School. The contents of the container are anything but plain, though. Walking inside the container, different colors of ambient lighting glow, futuristic-looking equipment and tall towers are suspended from the ceiling, and the humidity level is set to 70 percent. The container has been recycled into a new kind of learning opportunity for students.