• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD Home to 14 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Yet another indicator of educational excellence, Douglas County School District is pleased to announce the names of 14 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists, making them part of an elite group representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. These academically talented students advance in the competition, which awards 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million. 

The goal of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence. Approximately 1.5 million students entered the competition. Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in 2016:

  • 2,500 National Merit Scholarships
  • 1,000 Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarships
  • 3,900 College/University-Sponsored Merit Scholarships

Finalists will be announced next February, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced starting in April. Congratulations to these outstanding DCSD students!

  1. Andrew Z. Chen, ThunderRidge High School
  2. Molly A. Corlett, Chaparral High School
  3. Rachel L. Damle, Mountain Vista High School
  4. Kellyn M. Dassler, Chaparral High School
  5. Alexander L. Fu, Mountain Vista High School
  6. Jacob B. Granley, Legend High School
  7. Emily N. Gregston, Ponderosa High School
  8. Olivia A. Johnson, Highlands Ranch High School
  9. Joel S. Min, Legend High School
  10. Megan I. Mitchell, ThunderRidge High School
  11. George N. Pandya, STEM School
  12. Ji Woo Park, Rock Canyon High School
  13. Kiana C. Trippler, ThunderRidge High School
  14. Amy E. Zhou, Mountain Vista High School
September 16, 2015 | By CSilberman | Category: Schools

District News

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.


The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) has certified Sagewood Middle School as a Recognized ASCA National Model Program (RAMP). A prestigious honor, Sagewood is now the only middle school in the state of Colorado to have gained this certification. Schools must receive a near-perfect score on ASCA’s scoring rubric, which outlines guidelines for building and maintaining student achievement, behavior, counseling curriculum, school culture, and several other factors, in order to become certified.