• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD Home to 21 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship Program

DOUGLAS COUNTY – Yet another indicator of educational excellence, Douglas County School District is pleased to announce the names of 21 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. These academically talented high school seniors advance in the competition, which awards approximately 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million. 
The goal of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence. Last year, DCSD had 16 semifinalists – the number increased this year to 21 students.
The national pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. Approximately 1.4 million students entered the competition. Finalists will be announced next February, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced starting in April.
Congratulations to these outstanding DCSD students!

Sarah H. Choe, ThunderRidge High School
Kirsten V. Delany, Highlands Ranch High School
Jessica L. Dobler, Rock Canyon High School
Andrew G. Foster, Chaparral High School
Chase A. Henry, Rock Canyon High School
Samuel T. Herlin, Highlands Ranch High School
Samuel R. Hoffman, Highlands Ranch High School
Lily M. Johnson, Highlands Ranch High School
Lucas A. Laughlin, Rock Canyon High School
Brandon K. Lee, ThunderRidge High School
Andrej J. Lysak, Legend High School

Danielle M. Mayorga-Young, Ponderosa High School
Benjamin P. Murray, ThunderRidge High School
Cecilia R. Pollice, ThunderRidge High School
Spencer T. Pozder, Mountain Vista High School
Gwendolyn S. Seymour, ThunderRidge High School
Kyra E. Smart, ThunderRidge High School
Gabriel A. Tauberl, Rock Canyon High School
Paige Trexel, Douglas County High School
Megan A. Wenham, ThunderRidge High School
Arthur Zabronsky, Douglas County High School


September 16, 2014 | By SCPaulsen | Category: High School Education

District News

The Apple Awards honors and celebrates excellence in education. This year, more than 5,000 nominations were submitted. 188 Apple Representatives from schools and departments were then selected by the Foundation in January. Of this outstanding group of education leaders, five individuals were awarded with an Apple Award. 

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.