• Employee Resources
  • Language

Yearbook Wins!

'Look Up', last year's yearbook is a finalist for the Pacemaker award this year. According to Yearbook sponsor, Jeremy Kamm, this is "kind of like making the playoffs and going to the Superbowl."

"Pacemaker finalists were announced in Minneapolis by the National Scholastic Press Association. Overall, what separated the finalist's books from the rest was clean designs, strong photography and comprehensive coverage of local and national trends. The selected publications also had clever and solid themes that developed both visually and verbally throughout the book. A team of judges comprised of experienced journalism professionals and educators chose finalists from five categories that totaled 367 entries. From these entries, 89 were selected as finalists. NSPA congratulates all finalists in this step towards winning scholastic journalism's most prestigious award, the Pacemaker." from http://studentpress.org/nspa/2015-yearbook-pacemaker-finalists-announced/

Mr. Kamm and a group of yearbook representatives will travel to Los Angeles April 14-17, 2016 to participate in the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention where the Pacemaker winners will be announced. Please congratulate the yearbook staff and specifically Kenzie Brockman and Josh Bulawa. Maddie Malhotra was the Editor In Chief last year and is now attending Boston University.

March 10, 2016 | By mdboatwright | Category: Chaparral High School

District News

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.


The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) has certified Sagewood Middle School as a Recognized ASCA National Model Program (RAMP). A prestigious honor, Sagewood is now the only middle school in the state of Colorado to have gained this certification. Schools must receive a near-perfect score on ASCA’s scoring rubric, which outlines guidelines for building and maintaining student achievement, behavior, counseling curriculum, school culture, and several other factors, in order to become certified.