• Employee Resources
  • Language

Boettcher Scholars thank Douglas County teachers

DENVER – Four Douglas County School District teachers received a big thank you from some of the District’s brightest recent graduates.
Rock Canyon High School Vocal Music teacher Julia Dale, Highlands Ranch High School science teacher Mike Ryan, Douglas County High School IB Coordinator Steven Fleet and Castle View High School physics teacher Christine Nichols were honored during an award ceremony in Denver on Sunday August 5. All three were selected by former students, now Boettcher Scholars, as honorees during the Boettcher Foundation’s 21st Annual Teacher Recognition Awards Program.
Launched in 1992, the ceremony provides an opportunity for Boettcher Scholars to recognize the counselors, principals, superintendents and teachers who have made an impact on their lives and helped, in part, their success.
Below are the 2012 DCSD Boettcher Scholars, their current schools, the teachers they selected and their high school:
Aubrey Eggett
University of Colorado, Boulder
Julia Dale
Rock Canyon High School
Shannon Hegemann
University of Colorado, Boulder
Mike Ryan
Highlands Ranch High School
Jenny Park
University of Denver
Steven Fleet
Douglas County High School
Jacob Walden
Colorado College
Christine Nichols
Castle View High School
At the awards ceremony, every recipient of the Teacher Recognition Award receives a $1,000 grant to be used for educational programs to benefit students at their schools, as well as a plaque recognizing their achievement.
While it is an extraordinary honor to be selected for this honor, it is even more so for Steven Fleet and Christine Nichols. Both have been honored by Boettcher scholars before.
Since 1952, the Boettcher Foundation has awarded nearly $55 million in undergraduate scholarships to many of Colorado’s best and brightest students through the Boettcher Scholarship Program. These awards guarantee essentially a full-ride to any 4-year institution in Colorado. The merit-based program is the oldest scholarship program in the state.
The Foundation has also been making capital grants to Colorado non-profit organizations since 1937, with more than $300 million contributed toward building healthcare clinics, community centers, cultural facilities and more all across the state.
Each of the 40 Boettcher Scholars for 2012 nominated a teacher who made a significant contribution to his or her growth and education.
October 14, 2013 | By Anonymous | Category:

District News

On February 9 the PACE Center hosted Portfolio Day for students like Sladovnik. It was an opportunity for critiques from working professional artists, and workshops. It culminates in the "Bright Futures" art exhibit - a showcase of selected work on display February 16-27.

Last month, the Board of Education passed a resolution tasking the Superintendent to convene a task force inclusive of members of the general public and staff members. This task force will develop a survey for parents of students eligible for special education services and a survey for staff members who serve students eligible for special education services.

Board members sitting at the dais

CASTLE ROCK - On February 6, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education confirmed its commitment to begin the process of seeking approval from voters for additional local funding.

“Our children need a bond and mill levy override (MLO) to be passed in 2018, beyond any doubt,” said DCSD Board of Education President David Ray. “We want to move forward immediately with the necessary processes and collaboration with our community in order to finalize a formal funding package.”