• Employee Resources
  • Language

Douglas County School District announces 16 National Merit Semifinalists


CASTLE ROCK – Douglas County School District is pleased to announce the names of 16 National Merit Semifinalists. “We're proud of our national merit semifinalists,” said DCSD Superintendent Dr. Liz Fagen. “To have 16 students from one District is terrific – It is one indicator of the educational excellence to which we are committed to providing all students.”

“These 16 Douglas County students have become part of an elite group from across the country,” added Fagen. “We're proud to have them represent our school district, and we celebrate the teachers who prepared them well to meet the even most rigorous standards.”

Douglas County School District National Merit Semifinalists:

Taylor Blatchford, Mountain Vista High School
 Dane Burkholder, Rock Canyon High School
Shivani Chauhan, Rock Canyon High School
Francis Commercon, Highlands Ranch High School
Amanda Dawson, Highlands Ranch High School
Charles Fiddler, Highlands Ranch High School
Dylan Ingram, Mountain Vista High School
Shannon Jiang, Rock Canyon High School
Nathan Keim, Castle View High School
Louise Kuehster, Douglas County High School
Julie Newman, Mountain Vista High School
Kianna Nguyen, ThunderRidge High School
Shawn Ong, Douglas County High School
Evan Qi, Highlands Ranch High School
Lindsey Sorensen, Mountain Vista High School
Lincoln Ward, Chaparral High School

According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, approximately 1.5 million students are eligible to enter the competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT.  Requirements include that the student must also be enrolled at a high school and plan on attending college full time.

NMSC says that about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, qualify as Semifinalists and are designated on a state representational basis.  Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Next steps include advancing to the Finalist standing by meeting high academic standards and all the existing standards outlined by NMSC.  Follow this link to learn more.

October 29, 2013 | By rmbarber | Category: High School Education, Schools

District News

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.


The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) has certified Sagewood Middle School as a Recognized ASCA National Model Program (RAMP). A prestigious honor, Sagewood is now the only middle school in the state of Colorado to have gained this certification. Schools must receive a near-perfect score on ASCA’s scoring rubric, which outlines guidelines for building and maintaining student achievement, behavior, counseling curriculum, school culture, and several other factors, in order to become certified.