• Employee Resources
  • Language

Five DCSD Teachers Honored by Boettcher Foundation

student speaking at podium, teacher looking at her proudly.

DENVER - The Boettcher Foundation recently honored 42 Colorado teachers for the significant impact they have had on some of Colorado’s top students – with five of the teachers coming from the Douglas County School District.

Every year, the Boettcher Foundation allows each scholarship recipient to acknowledge the teacher who has had the greatest impact on the student’s life. During a special ceremony at the Denver Botanic Gardens, each Boettcher Scholar shared moving stories and thoughtful remarks about his or her teacher.

“Colorado’s kids deserve teachers who are driven and passionate about the work they do,” said Tiffany Anderson, the Boettcher Foundation’s scholarship program director. “The 42 teachers selected by our newest scholars have championed excellence in their classrooms, and we are proud to recognize them for helping our scholars get to where they are today.”

Congratulations to the following DCSD educators who were recently honored as Boettcher Teacher Recognition Award recipients:

  • Roger Felch, Castle View High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Jenna Trost)
  • Katherine Hartline, Rock Canyon High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Sydney Marchando)
  • Cynthia Henderson, Legend High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Niketna Vivek)
  • Brent Jackson, Legend High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Ansh Desai)
  • Janna Robinett, Rock Canyon High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Ryan Vandersmith)

Felch and Robinett are multiple-year recipients of this honor.

Each teacher will receive a $1,000 grant from the Boettcher Foundation to be used toward an educational program or project to benefit students at the teacher’s school. This is the 26th year for the awards program.


Photos courtesy Lynn Clark Portraits 

August 16, 2017 | By CSilberman | Category: Human Resources for Employees, High School Education, Human Resources, Schools

District News

Kim working with a student

The award wasn't a surprise to anyone at Rocky Heights Middle School except for Kim Chlumsky herself.




Banner displayed on a brick wall that says "What are your Sources of Strength?"

A fairly new partnership between DCSD’s Prevention & School Culture team and Douglas County Teen Court coordinators is providing a new path for youth offenders. Additionally, Sources of Strength— now present in most DCSD high schools and some middle schools— is establishing a healthy culture and climate with the goal of catching youth long before they fall into unhealthy behaviors or consider taking their own lives.


Cohl in Athens at World Championship game, holding a large American flag over his head

Ponderosa High School student and wrestler Cohlton Schultz has just returned back from Athens, Greece to Colorado after becoming the first United States World Champion in 20 years in Greco-Roman wrestling.

Ponderosa Assistant Principal and Athletic Director, Tim Ottman led a 30-minute assembly Wednesday for Cohl, joined by Cohl’s parents, his coaches from the Olympic Training Center, his former Ponderosa wrestling coach (and current Assistant Principal) Corey McNellis, and current wrestling coach Tito Rinaldis.