• Employee Resources
  • Language

Elementary teacher recognized for leadership in science education


PARKER – Pine Lane Elementary School Teacher Stephanie Kawamura has been selected as a State-level finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Kawamura, who was selected as a result of her outstanding teaching and leadership in science, is now eligible to receive national recognition. The PAEMST awards are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government, given annually to K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year.

“It's such a pleasure to see her in action with our students, and it is not a surprise that Stephanie is being recognized by PAEMST for her exemplary teaching abilities, especially in science,” said Pine Lane Principal Danelle Hiatt. “She consistently facilitates high quality, authentic and relevant learning experiences, engaging students in a meaningful way, and promoting their critical-thinking skills.  The fact that her instruction was videotaped in order to support other teachers with quality science instructional design is a testament to her professional expertise and competencies,” Hiatt added.

A selection committee composed of science educators, teachers and past awardees will select the national PAEMST awardees. Teachers chosen for national recognition will be notified by The White House, receive $10,000, and an be invited to attend the awards ceremony, celebratory receptions, professional development programs, and discussions with policy-makers on how to improve mathematics and science education.

Learn more about The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

July 28, 2014 | By SCPaulsen | Category: Pine Lane Elementary School, Elementary Education

District News

kids running outside as part of a race

DCSD is requesting parent input on the health and wellness of our students. Last year, DCSD received a large planning grant from Colorado Health Foundation in an effort to assess how the district supports students through the lens of the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child model (WSCC). The mission of this grant is to review the current state of DCSD's student health and wellness program, and then formulate a three to five-year plan based on stakeholders’ needs, the latest research, and best practices. As part of this process, we would like your input.

How are we doing?

We want to hear from you! How often do you prefer to receive email newsletters from DCSD? How can we improve the news and information you receive? This brief survey should only take a minute or two of your time. Thank you for giving us your input!

Tell us what you think, here!


glowing purple lights hover over trays of seedlings in a dark room

It may look like a plain, white shipping container was just parked on the backyard grounds of Mountain Vista High School. The contents of the container are anything but plain, though. Walking inside the container, different colors of ambient lighting glow, futuristic-looking equipment and tall towers are suspended from the ceiling, and the humidity level is set to 70 percent. The container has been recycled into a new kind of learning opportunity for students.