• Employee Resources
  • Language

DCSD honors 2015 Apple Award winners

DENVER – The Douglas County Educational Foundation (DCEF), in cooperation with the Douglas County School District (DCSD) celebrated the work of its teachers, support staff and administrators during the 2015 Apple Awards.

The ceremony was held on Saturday February 21 at the Sheraton Denver Downtown.

Congratulations to all of the nominees and this year’s winners. The following is a list of the ten awardees in the order they were presented during the ceremony

Pioneer in Education
Mary Lisa Harper

Mammoth Heights Elementary


Administrative Employee of the Year
Marci Milius

Innovation & Design Center


School Employee Award
Martha Ranson

Roxborough Intermediate School


Administrators of the Year
Patti Magby

Meadow View Elementary School
Brian Rodda

Fox Creek Elementary School

Community Partner
Wargin Events

Susie Wargin, Ed Wargin and Ted Wargin


World Class Educator
Kathy Carter
Renaissance Expeditionary Learning Outward Bound Magnet School


Early Childhood Educator of the Year
Jennifer Morris

Iron Horse Elementary School


Elementary Educator of the Year
Ronda Gutierrez

Buffalo Ridge Elementary School


Secondary Educator of the Year
Cari Corley

Legend High School

February 21, 2015 | By rmbarber | Category: Apple Awards, District, Elementary Education, High School Education, Middle School Education, Schools

District News

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.


The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) has certified Sagewood Middle School as a Recognized ASCA National Model Program (RAMP). A prestigious honor, Sagewood is now the only middle school in the state of Colorado to have gained this certification. Schools must receive a near-perfect score on ASCA’s scoring rubric, which outlines guidelines for building and maintaining student achievement, behavior, counseling curriculum, school culture, and several other factors, in order to become certified.