• Employee Resources
  • Language

Congratulations to the 2016 Apple Award Winners!

DENVER – The ballroom at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel was packed with Douglas County educators as Douglas County School District’s best were honored during the annual Apple Awards.

 This year a total of seven awards were given during the event, which is presented by the Douglas County Educational Foundation. The awards honor excellence in education and were an excellent opportunity to celebrate the work of DCSD’s teachers, support staff and administrators.

WATCH: Apple Awards Introduction Video celebrating our educators, support staff and administrators, who are always on their "A-Game"


2016 Apple Award Honorees

World Class Educator 
Tony Verbsky
Highlands Ranch High School

Community Partners of the Year

Catholic Charities of Central Colorado
Cherry Hills Community Church


Administrators of the Year
Alisa Pauley
Heritage Elementary

Lee-Ann Hayen
Castle Rock Middle School


Classified Employee of the Year
Carol Kendall
Acres Green Elementary

Secondary Educator of the Year
Dr. Mark Thorsen
Ponderosa High School


Elementary Educator of the Year
Kaitlin Shock
Coyote Creek Elementary


Pioneers in Education
Sarah Wegert, Sandy Miller & Kaitlin Shock
Coyote Creek Elementary


Congratulations to all of the 2016 Apple Award Winners!


For the first year ever, the event was livesteramed, providing family members and others in the DCSD community a chance to watch the ceremony.

WATCH the archive of the show at

March 5, 2016 | By rmbarber | Category: Apple Awards

District News

kids running outside as part of a race

DCSD is requesting parent input on the health and wellness of our students. Last year, DCSD received a large planning grant from Colorado Health Foundation in an effort to assess how the district supports students through the lens of the Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child model (WSCC). The mission of this grant is to review the current state of DCSD's student health and wellness program, and then formulate a three to five-year plan based on stakeholders’ needs, the latest research, and best practices. As part of this process, we would like your input.

How are we doing?

We want to hear from you! How often do you prefer to receive email newsletters from DCSD? How can we improve the news and information you receive? This brief survey should only take a minute or two of your time. Thank you for giving us your input!

Tell us what you think, here!


glowing purple lights hover over trays of seedlings in a dark room

It may look like a plain, white shipping container was just parked on the backyard grounds of Mountain Vista High School. The contents of the container are anything but plain, though. Walking inside the container, different colors of ambient lighting glow, futuristic-looking equipment and tall towers are suspended from the ceiling, and the humidity level is set to 70 percent. The container has been recycled into a new kind of learning opportunity for students.