• Employee Resources
  • Language

2013 Administrator’s Scholarship recipients honored

CASTLE ROCK – Twelve outstanding Douglas County School District seniors were honored by District leaders this week. They were named the recipients of the 2013 Administrator’s Scholarship Program during a special ceremony on May 9 at the Wildlife Experience in Parker.

Each of the students selected for this year’s award are remarkable. Many of them are among the top performers at their schools and several of them have overcome great obstacles to succeed at their respective schools.



2013 Administrator’s Scholarship Recipients
Devon Cole – Legend High School
Molly Dean – Castleview High School
Ana Elfring – Castleview High School
Kenzi Kaplan-Lopez – Chaparral High School
Laura Londono – Mountain Vista High School
Miranda McHodgkins – Legend High School
Rob Monroe – Rock Canyon High School
Katelyn Pyfer – Dougleas County High School
Mikaela Rodenbaugh – Ponderosa High School
Darryl Shaver – Thunder Ridge High School

Rebecca Smith – Mountain Vista High School
Rebecca Wong – Highlands Ranch High School

The Administrator’s Scholarship Program has been awarding scholarships to DCSD students for 25 years. The program has doled out more than 150 scholarship and $130,000 in funds over those years. It has made the “college dream” possible for many students.
“It was really exciting for me because my family is not particularly well off because of the economy, so one of my biggest concerns for college was paying for it.” said Castle View High School senior Ana Elfring.
Each of the scholarship recipients will receive $1000 to aid with their college expenses.  The program is funded by DCSD employee payroll deductions and sponsored events such as Golf 4 Grads, which has taken place for the last 7 years.
This year’s Golf 4 Grads event was held at the Red Hawk Ridge golf course. There were nearly 100 administrators, teachers, sponsors and guests that were treated to a pancake breakfast prior to the event that raise over $20,000.


“Administrators and teachers come together and celebrate students by giving back even more than they do during the week by continuing to fund raise and generate funds for scholarships for students beyond their days in Douglas County schools.” says DCSD Assistant Superintendent Chris Cutter.
All of this year’s recipients were chosen from a large field of applicants and demonstrated outstanding qualities and achievements both in and out of school. Their goals and aspirations vary on where their paths may take them, however, they all agreed that the program is of great benefit to students who face multiple challenges.  Their sense of gratitude was at the top of their list of responses.
“Just a huge thank you because when you hear the word scholarship and you’ve been awarded, that is just hands down the best feeling I can honestly say that anybody can have.” concluded Thunder Ridge High School senior Darryl Shaver.
May 9, 2013 | By Anonymous | Category: Communications

District News

The Douglas County School District Board of Education welcomes Dr. Thomas S. Tucker into the role of Superintendent of Douglas County School District. Dr. Tucker officially leads the 68,000 student district as of July 1, 2018.


Nearly 1,500 Colorado students applied for the prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarship this year, with 42 being named recipients. Of those, the Douglas County School District (DCSD) is proudly home to four recipients.


When it comes to mental health services, communities traditionally focus on supporting kids as needs arise. This work is crucial for the safety of our students. Equally important, though, is prevention-based programming that can help, early on, prevent the social-emotional challenges our kids may be experiencing from escalating.