Boettcher Foundation honors five teachers

Five DCSD teachers honored by Boettcher Foundation
Posted on 08/17/2017

DENVER - The Boettcher Foundation recently honored 42 Colorado teachers for the significant impact they have had on some of Colorado’s top students – with five of the teachers coming from the Douglas County School District.

Every year, the Boettcher Foundation allows each scholarship recipient to acknowledge the teacher who has had the greatest impact on the student’s life. During a special ceremony at the Denver Botanic Gardens, each Boettcher Scholar shared moving stories and thoughtful remarks about his or her teacher.

“Colorado’s kids deserve teachers who are driven and passionate about the work they do,” said Tiffany Anderson, the Boettcher Foundation’s scholarship program director. “The 42 teachers selected by our newest scholars have championed excellence in their classrooms, and we are proud to recognize them for helping our scholars get to where they are today.”

Congratulations to the following DCSD educators who were recently honored as Boettcher Teacher Recognition Award recipients:

  • Roger Felch, Castle View High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Jenna Trost)
  • Katherine Hartline, Rock Canyon High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Sydney Marchando)
  • Cynthia Henderson, Legend High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Niketna Vivek)
  • Brent Jackson, Legend High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Ansh Desai)
  • Janna Robinett, Rock Canyon High School (recognized by student and Boettcher Scholar Ryan Vandersmith)

Felch and Robinett are multiple-year recipients of this honor.

Each teacher will receive a $1,000 grant from the Boettcher Foundation to be used toward an educational program or project to benefit students at the teacher’s school. This is the 26th year for the awards program.

Photos courtesy Lynn Clark Portraits  

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

Douglas County School District Nondiscrimination Notice: The Douglas County School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity/expression, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, age, marital status, genetic information, or physical characteristics, disability or need for special education services in admissions, access to, treatment of, or employment in educational programs or activities. The School District’s Compliance Officer is Ted Knight, Assistant Superintendent, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado,, 303-387-0067. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees and members of the public.