Girls & Women in Sports

Girls and Women In Sports Graphic

Douglas County School District and the Foundation for Douglas County Schools would like to congratulate the following elite athletes selected by their schools to be honored for National Girls and Women in Sports Day. This recognition is given to young women who exhibit outstanding athletic accomplishments, leadership, character, and academic work in Douglas County Schools.

We proudly recognize sports achievements, the positive influence of sports participation, and the continuing effort for equality and access for women in sports. We salute all of our student athletes - past and present - for believing in themselves, and that anything is possible. In addition to the athletes, we honor and give thanks to the parents, coaches, and all who support and encourage them.

The inaugural National Girls and Women in Sports Day (NGWSD) celebration was held in Washington, D.C. in 1987 as a day to remember Olympic volleyball player Flo Hyman for her athletic achievements and her work to ensure equality for women’s sports. This year, the 34th Annual NGWSD is celebrated in all 50 states with community-based events, award ceremonies and activities honoring the achievements and encouraging participation of girls and women in sports.

High School Athletes

Middle School Athletes

Castle Rock
Middle School

Caroline Ashworth
Sarah Breed
Deidra Hooper
Jessa Reese
Quinn VanSickle

Middle School

Jacey Cohen
Caroline Dennis
Hannah Johnson
Aislyn Korella
Rachel Robinson

Middle School

Kathryn Apotheker
Mia Apotheker
Myla Blake
Amelia Eaton
Quinn Gedeon
Isabella Holley
Madeline Jenkins

Middle School

Raegan Erickson
Emma McKinney
Hailey McKinney
Isabel Paraiso
Paige Valley

 Mountain Ridge
Middle School

Victoria Baker
Ashley Hollingshead
Anna Lehotan
Evalyn Lorenz
Alexandra Strassner

 Ranch View
Middle School

Taylor Curry
Abigail Grogan
Kacey Harvey
Molly Prince
Riley Waye
Taylor Whipple

 Rocky Heights
Middle School

Caitlin Carlson
Leanne Mackzum
Cleo Melville
Genaveva Rosa
Reese Waller

Middle School

Lydia Andrzejuk
Payton Becker
Jaelynn Fletcher
Alexandra Rodriguez
Laney Webb 

Middle School

Isabella Callahan
Ella McGonigle
Ella Tholstrom
Molly Weber
Sofia Zaugg

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District’s Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Catherine Franklin, Interim Compliance Officer, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado,, 720-433-1285. Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.