29 National Merit Semifinalists from DCSD

DCSD Home to 29 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists
Posted on 09/18/2019
National Merit Scholarship LogoDouglas County School District (DCSD) is pleased to announce the names of 29 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists, making them part of an elite group representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. These academically talented students advance in the competition, which awards 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million.

“I am proud of these students who represent DCSD so well,” said Superintendent Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. “They truly exemplify the academic accomplishments we see in all of our schools throughout the year. The National Merit Scholarship program is a true measure of incredible student success.”

The goal of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation is to honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence. More than 1.5 million students entered the competition. Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2020:

● 2,500 National Merit Scholarships
● 1,000 Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarships
● 4,100 College-Sponsored Merit Scholarships

Finalists will be announced next February, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced in the months to follow. Congratulations to these outstanding DCSD students!

1. Rachel Absher, Legend High School
2. Rachel Bigler, SkyView Academy
3. Andrew Burcham, Mountain Vista High School
4. Jayendra Chauhan, Rock Canyon High School
5. Anand Chundi, SkyView Academy
6. Kayla Fairweather, Ponderosa High School
7. Derek Fearon, Rock Canyon High School
8. Trevor Fox, Mountain Vista High School
9. Viyan Giri, Rock Canyon High School
10. Keelin Hunt, Mountain Vista High School
11. Hope James, Rock Canyon High School
12. Ashley Kozlowski, Rock Canyon High School
13. Christopher Kraft, Mountain Vista High School
14. Brady LeJeune-DeAcutis, ThunderRidge High School
15. Kyle Lewis, Douglas County High School
16. Sophia Mickus, Highlands Ranch High School
17. Allison O’Brien, Mountain Vista High School
18. Isaac Resnikoff, Highlands Ranch High School
19. Reed Rohr, ThunderRidge High School
20. Grace Ryan, STEM School Highlands Ranch
21. Wesley Shih, Rock Canyon High School
22. Thomas Starr, Ponderosa High School
23. Samyukta Vakkalanka, Douglas County High School
24. Devin Warner, Highlands Ranch High School
25. Sage Wheeler, Rock Canyon High School
26. Felix Wilton, Rock Canyon High School
27. Emily Yi, Rock Canyon High School
28. Vivian Zheng, Rock Canyon High School
29. Melanie Zhou, ThunderRidge High School


About DCSD Douglas County School District is Colorado’s third largest school district and serves 68,000 students. Learn more at www.dcsdk12.org.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District’s Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Ted Knight, Assistant Superintendent, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado, complianceofficer@dcsdk12.org, 303-387-0067. Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.