• Employee Resources
  • Language

Feb. 4 Board Briefing

Presidential Scholars candidate Shawn Ong


The Douglas County Board of Education convened for business at 7 p.m. on February 4, 2014. Sophie Pepin, member of the Student Advisory Group and ThunderRidge High School senior joined Board members on the dais. The Board conducted business items and engaged public comment from a crowd of students, parents, teachers, and community members. 

The live stream of board meetings can be found on the official DCSD Livestream channel.


Student and Staff Recognition

The Board of Education was proud to recognize the achievement of outstanding students and staff.

Outstanding Journalism Teachers

Board members celebrated educators that are doing some amazing work with student journalists.

Journalism Teachers Melissa Larson and Jessica LeifheitRecently the Journalism Education Association announced Melissa Larson, Mesa Middle School, and Jessica Leifheit, Castle View High School, will be recognized with the “Rising Star” award in April at the organization’s spring conference. The award started in 2006 to recognize promising teachers with up to five years of experience teaching or advising student journalism. Only 14 teachers across the country will receive this award this year.  It is a remarkable honor for DCSD to have to teachers on this prestigious list.

Journalism Education Association Advisor of the Year

Jed Palmer, Sierra Middle School, is one of only three teachers nationwide to be named a distinguished Advisor of the Year by the Journalism Education Association. Jed is one of only three teachers nationwide to be named Distinguished Advisor of the Year. In the 18 years that JEA has been naming Distinguished Advisors, this is only the second time that they have chosen a middle school teacher for the honor and only the fourth time they have chosen an advisor in Colorado.

2014 U.S. Presidential Scholar Candidates

Three DCSD students have been named as candidates in the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Every January 20, forty students from each state are chosen as candidates for this award. The Board of Education honored Shawn Ong, Douglas County High School, Julie Newman, Mountain Vista High School, and Ben King, Rock Canyon High SchoolPresidental Scholars candidates

The Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President. It is one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.  In fact, only 141 students from across the country will receive this prestigious award. The process begins with the selection of 3,000 academic candidates based on SAT and ACT scores. Shawn, Julie, and Ben all achieved perfect scores on his ACT scores. There is a process to narrow the candidates including a review by the Commission on Presidential Scholars. The Commission will select up to 121 Academic Scholars and up to 20 Arts Scholarships. Last year, Highlands Ranch High School graduate Amy Chen was one of two Coloradoans selected as a Presidential Scholar.  The winners are flown to Washington, D.C. for an all-expense paid awards ceremony.

Public Comment

The Board engaged in public comment with members of the community.

Superintendent Reports

Douglas County School District Lobbyist Jason Hopfer provided a legislative update. Approximately forty education bills have been introduced to date. Hopfer addressed bills impacting school finance and the growing number of state-mandated standardized tests.

Board Committee & Liaison Reports

Director Judi Reynolds announced the upcoming District Accountability Committee (DAC) meeting will focus on the DCSD Strategic Plan.

Adoption of the Consent Agenda

The Board voted by a margin of 6-0 to adopt the consent agenda: Staff recommendations, detailed in Agenda Items #14-#17, organized for the Board of Education block approval.

Action Items

Board of Education President Kevin Larsen proposed a resolution regarding state education funding. The resolution was unanimously approved.  


audio iconSession 1 audio recording
Session 2 audio recording






February 5, 2014 | By SCPaulsen | Category: Board of Education

District News

graduates standing in line outside, smiling

DOUGLAS COUNTY – Graduation rates in the Douglas County School District (DCSD) continue to climb. Data released today by the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) shows the on-time, four-year graduation rate is now 90.4 percent.

DCSD students also made an impressive showing at graduation. The class of 2017 earned more than $82 million in scholarships.

DCSD has one of the highest graduation rates in the Denver metro area. According to CDE, DCSD graduation rates have risen steadily from 81.9 percent in 2009 to 90.4 percent in 2017.

Five female students standing on stage smiling and laughing at the awards ceremony

The top two-percent of female athletes in Douglas County School District (DCSD) were honored at the annual Girls and Women in Sports Luncheon last week at Chaparral High School. This year represented the 30th national celebration of Girls and Women in Sports Day, created to encourage and promote the participation of girls in athletics. The girls who were honored were selected by their school’s coaches, athletic directors and principals for their outstanding achievements.

Superintendent Search text based logo

Working through the recent winter break, the Douglas County School District Board of Education has kicked off its search for DCSD’s next permanent superintendent. Following a thorough vetting of potential search firms, Ray & Associates (no relation to Board Director David Ray) has been hired to conduct the national search. The cost of the firm, excluding travel expenses, is $40,000. The money will come from the school board's budget, which is used for costs such as legal expenses and conferences.