• Employee Resources
  • Language

Dec. 3 Board Briefing

Members of the Board of Education



The Douglas County Board of Education convened for business at 7 p.m. on December 3, 2013. The Board conducted business items and engaged public comment from a crowd of students, parents, teachers, and community members.



Board Recognitions

The Board of Education is proud to recognize the achievement of one of our innovative teachers, and some extremely bright and talented students.

Catherine Beck recognition
Catherine Beck

Catherine is the Instructional Technology Coach at Pine Lane Elementary.  She was recently recognized by Common Sense Media with their "Common Sense Educator: Digital Citizenship" certification. Catherine was one of only of eight teachers in the state—and one of 70 nationwide—to receive this recognition. This certification is presented to educators who demonstrate dedication to teaching digital citizenship and other digital literacy skills.

Perfect ACT Scores 

Benjamin King of Rock Canyon High School (left), Julie Newman of Mountain Vista High School (middle) and Shawn Ong (right), of Douglas County High School scored a perfect 36 on the ACT Test.

The ACT, which covers English, mathematics, reading, writing and science, is administered six times a year.  According ACT, more than 1.6 million students nationwide took the test in 2012.  Getting a perfect score of 36 on the test is a rare achievement – less than one-tenth of one percent of students who take the ACT earns a 36.

Fall High School Journalism Convention – WriteOff

Several high school students proudly represented DCSD and their schools at this year's Fall High School Journalism Convention in Boston.

Nearly 2,000 students participated in the annual WriteOff competition at the convention. The WriteOff competition challenged students by giving them a story and requiring them to hand-write an article in just a little more than an hour.  

Amongst the participants, only about 800 received recognition, including these four Douglas County students who received "Excellent" ratings: Dylan Ingram from Mountain Vista High School (left) was honored in News Editing; Brian Waite from Legend High School (center) was awarded for Yearbook Copy/Captions Academics; Kaitlin Zenoni of Mountain Vista was recognized for Sports Writing; and Wes Edwards from Mountain Vista (right) won in the Press Law and Ethics category.

Fall High School Journalism Convention – Vista-J

At the Convention, Mountain Vista High School's journalism students accepted the National Scholastic Press Association's Pacemaker Award. 

The Pacemaker is the highest award given at the high school level and is judged based on the following topics:  coverage and content; quality of writing and reporting; leadership on the opinion page; evidence of in-depth reporting; design, photography, art and graphics. 

Over the past year, the group has worked tirelessly to bring together all of their media and yearbook programs. Now the Vista-J staff work together on contributions for the Aerie yearbook, Eagle Eye newsmagazine, Eagle Vision TV broadcast, website, and sports journalism.

Action Items

The new elected school board directors, Dr. Jim Geddes, Judi Reynolds, Doug Benevento (returning) and Meghann Silverthorne (returning) were sworn in and the outgoing school board directors, President John Carson and Carrie Mendoza, were recognized.  The Board of Education elected Kevin Larsen as the new Board of Education President and Doug Benevento as the new Vice President.

Superintendent's Report

Teachers from the Ponderosa feeder area presented "Empowering From Within: Teachers Leading Teachers."  The presentation explored the topics of leadership and the importance of tying subjects together to make the interdisciplinary connections. The following teachers presented:

Sandra Barrett
Mary Jo King
Stacy Kuhn
Ryan Miwa
Adrienne Rabius
Michelle Smith
Shannon Smith
Ponderosa High School
Franktown Elementary
Mountain View Elementary
Ponderosa High School
Northeast Elementary
Mountain View Elementary
Ponderosa High School

Chief Development and Innovation Officer Pat McGraw gave a Professional Development update.

This presentation provided an update of the systemic, personalized professional development offered by the Center for Professional Development to support the Strategic Plan.

Board Committee and Liaison Reports

President Kevin Larsen and Vice President Doug Benevento gave brief remarks on being elected by their fellow directors to positions of leadership.  

Public Comment
Adoption of Consent Agenda

The Board voted by a margin of 6-0 to adopt the consent agenda:  Staff recommendations, detailed in Agenda Items #18-#21, organized for the Board of Education block approval.


The Board adjourned the meeting at 9:30 p.m.

audio iconSession 1 audio recording


Professional Development Update presented by Chief Development and Innovation Officer Pat McGraw

January 14, 2014 | By SCPaulsen | Category: Board of Education

District News

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.


The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) has certified Sagewood Middle School as a Recognized ASCA National Model Program (RAMP). A prestigious honor, Sagewood is now the only middle school in the state of Colorado to have gained this certification. Schools must receive a near-perfect score on ASCA’s scoring rubric, which outlines guidelines for building and maintaining student achievement, behavior, counseling curriculum, school culture, and several other factors, in order to become certified.