Week in Review

Week in Review logo
Week in Review - September 19-23, 2022
09/23/2022
As you know, last month, the DCSD Board of Education voted unanimously to place a $60 million Mill Levy Override and $450 million Bond on the November ballot. But what does this mean for our schools?
Read More about Week in Review - September 19-23, 2022
clear
Week in Review - September 12-16, 2022
09/16/2022
DCSD’s calendar committee (made up of DCSD parents, students, leaders, teachers, and classified staff) have been working hard since January to develop four academic calendar options for the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 school years. Now we want to hear from you – our parents, students and staff members – regarding your feedback to these four calendar options and which one you like the best. Here’s how you can make your voice heard.
Read More about Week in Review - September 12-16, 2022
clear
Week in Review - September 5-9, 2022
09/09/2022
September is National Suicide Prevention Month. While suicide prevention is absolutely important every day of the year, according to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, National Suicide Prevention Month gives us an opportunity to shine a special, encouraging light on this topic that affects us all, and send a clear, hopeful message that help is available, and suicide can be prevented.
Read More about Week in Review - September 5-9, 2022
clear
Week in Review - August 29 - September 2, 2022
09/02/2022
Welcome to September! This week we received incredible news! One of our amazing middle school teachers was named a finalist for the 2023 Colorado Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to Rocio Meli from Castle Rock Middle School! We wish Rocio the best of luck in the remainder of the selection process (the winner will be named by the end of October). Please join me in congratulating Rocio and thanking her for her dedication to our students and for representing DCSD so well!
Read More about Week in Review - August 29 - September 2, 2022
clear
Week in Review - August 22-26, 2022
08/26/2022
This past Tuesday our Board of Education voted unanimously to place a $60M Mill Levy Override and $450M Bond on the November 2022 ballot. All seven board members expressed their strong support and personal dedication to our students and our staff. There was also a lot of support and unity among community members that provided public comment - even community members that typically have opposing viewpoints came together in support of additional funding for our school district.
Read More about Week in Review - August 22-26, 2022
clear
Week in Review - August 15-19, 2022
08/19/2022
I hope you had a wonderful second week of the 2022-2023 school year. Many families have participated in back to school nights over these past two weeks and I’ve heard inspiring stories about how excited our kids and staff are to be back!
Read More about Week in Review - August 15-19, 2022
clear
Week in Review - August 8-12 , 2022
08/12/2022
For most of our schools this week marked the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year and I hope it was amazing for each of our students, families and staff.
Read More about Week in Review - August 8-12 , 2022
clear
Week in Review - August 1-5, 2022
08/05/2022
Our schools have been buzzing with excitement this week! Teachers have been setting up their classrooms and attending professional development.
Read More about Week in Review - August 1-5, 2022
clear
Week in Review - July 25-29, 2022
07/29/2022
The first day of school is just 10 days away and our staff is busy getting ready to welcome our students back. We cannot wait to see the excitement on the faces of our students on their first day of the school year! This week, hundreds of our staff attended critical professional development opportunities
Read More about Week in Review - July 25-29, 2022
clear
Week in Review - July 10-15, 2022
07/15/2022
The summer months are flying by. We are getting geared up to welcome students back on August 8th and couldn’t be more excited!
Read More about Week in Review - July 10-15, 2022
clear
Week in Review - July 2-8, 2022
07/08/2022
We hope you are enjoying the summer months, including the much-needed rain we received this week!
Read More about Week in Review - July 2-8, 2022
clear
Week in Review June 27-July 1, 2022
07/01/2022
Welcome to July! Whether you are celebrating with friends or family, camping, vacationing or just relaxing at home, we wish you a very happy Independence Day and long weekend.
Read More about Week in Review June 27-July 1, 2022
clear
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District's Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Aaron Henderson, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado, [email protected], 720-433-1083.

Outside Agencies

Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.

NOTICE OF DESTRUCTION OF SPECIAL EDUCATION RECORDS

Special Education records which have been collected by Douglas County School District related to the identification, evaluation, educational placement, or the provision of special education in the district, must be maintained under state and federal laws for the period of five (5) years after special education services have ended for the student. Special education services end when the student is no longer eligible for services, graduates, or completes his/her educational program at age 21, or moves from the district. This notification is to inform parents/guardians and former students of Douglas County School District's intent to destroy the special education records of students who exited special education services as of June 30, 2016. These records will be destroyed in accordance with state law unless the parent/guardian or eligible (adult) student notifies the school district otherwise. After five years, the records are no longer useful to the district, but may be useful to the parent/guardian or former student in applying for social security benefits, rehabilitation services, college entrance, etc. The parent/guardian or eligible (adult) student may request a copy of the records by requesting the records by email to [email protected]