DCSD Board of Education

DCSD Board of Education
Posted on 11/03/2021

Español | русский

November 3, 2021

Dear Douglas County School District Families,

Thank you to the candidates and their volunteers who dedicated many hours over the past few months running for the Douglas County School District Board of Education. The fact that each one of these individuals wanted to serve the children, families, and staff of this community is inspiring and appreciated.

We want to welcome the new Board members who were elected last night: Becky Myers, Mike Peterson, Christy Williams, and Kaylee Winegar. Douglas County Government will certify the election results in the coming weeks. Per state statute, Board members will be sworn into office following certification, and the swearing-in is currently scheduled to take place at the November 30 Board meeting.

We also want to provide our gratitude to our soon-to-be outgoing Board members: Christina Ciancio-Schor, Anthony Graziano, Krista Holtzmann, and Kevin Leung. They have dedicated hundreds of volunteer hours to our amazing school district over the past four years and we are sincerely grateful for their service.

And last, but certainly not least, thank you to our Board members who will continue on with us: Elizabeth Hanson, Susan Meek, and David Ray. We look forward to continuing to work with you to serve the 64,000 students of DCSD.

Over the coming weeks, we will be working with our new Board members to help orient them and welcome them to their new roles. I am confident that our new Board of Education, staff, families, and community will be able to come together to continue the great mission of this school district.

Thank you for your continued support and partnership. We look forward to working with our School Board and welcoming our new directors. DCSD is a fantastic school district and we will continue to strive for excellence together!


Corey Wise
Douglas County School District

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District's Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Aaron Henderson, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado, complianceofficer@dcsdk12.org, 720-433-1083.

Outside Agencies

Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.