• Employee Resources
  • Language

7 Douglas County seniors receive Boettcher Scholarships

DENVER – Seven Douglas County students were recently named the recipients of prestigious Boettcher Foundation Scholarships.

The students, representing Castle View, Chaparral, Highlands Ranch, Legend and Mountain Vista high schools were among 42 graduating seniors selected for the prestigious honor, from a pool of more than 1,400 applicants.

Boettcher Scholarships recognize Colorado’s top students by providing them with the funds to attain an excellent in-state education and access to additional opportunities to enrich their time in college and beyond. Boettcher Scholars become part of a vast network of alumni and community leaders who will support and engage them throughout their lifetimes.


2016 DCSD Boettcher Foundation Scholarship Recipients

Kellyn Dassler
Chaparral HS
Colorado State University


Pranathi Durgempudi
Mountain Vista HS

University of Colorado, Boulder


Noah Hirshorn
Mountain Vista HS
Colorado College


William Holtzmann
Chaparral HS
University of Denver


Erin Jones
Legend HS
University of Denver


Paula Pulido
Highlands Ranch HS
University of Colorado, Boulder


Kelly Winn
Castle View HS

University of Colorado, Boulder


The scholarship covers virtually all expenses for these students to attend the Colorado school of the recipient’s choice: full tuition, fees, a book allowance and an annual stipend for living expenses.

About the Boettcher Scholars Program
Established in 1952, the Boettcher Scholarship program awards 42 scholarships each year. The Boettcher Scholar community includes more than 2,400 individuals who have gone on to make their marks in business, politics, academia and other endeavors. Among them are a Nobel Prize winner, a MacArthur “Genius Award” recipient, multiple Rhodes Scholars, U.S. Ambassadors, CEOs, elected officials, and numerous leaders in the business, academic and nonprofit communities.

For more information about the program and this year’s winners, CLICK HERE.

May 13, 2016 | By rmbarber | Category: High School Education, Schools

District News

High school students across Douglas County, and many students in respective feeder schools, are once again learning that a little kindness can go a long way. Again this year, our high schools hosted Wish Weeks to make dreams come true for Make-A-Wish Foundation beneficiaries.

The Douglas County School District (DCSD) Board of Education has named Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D. as the sole finalist to lead our 68,000-student district as superintendent on a unanimous vote.


The American School Counseling Association (ASCA) has certified Sagewood Middle School as a Recognized ASCA National Model Program (RAMP). A prestigious honor, Sagewood is now the only middle school in the state of Colorado to have gained this certification. Schools must receive a near-perfect score on ASCA’s scoring rubric, which outlines guidelines for building and maintaining student achievement, behavior, counseling curriculum, school culture, and several other factors, in order to become certified.